BSB 805 050

To give you the best possible experience, this site uses cookies. Learn more about cookies.

BSB 805 050

Board of Directors

Board Charter

Our Board of Directors is committed to the members of People's Choice Credit Union, as per the Board Charter.

Just as fulfilling the needs of our members is the top priority for all staff, each of our Board members understands the importance of their role and that their responsibility lies with providing a service to our members and the community.

Board of Directors


Michael Cameron


Director since 2019

Michael joined the Board of the Suncorp Group as a Non-Executive Director in April 2012. He was appointed Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer in October 2015, focusing on building the company’s digital capacity across multiple brands while driving a customer-first focus. Michael is also the former Chief Executive Officer of The GPT Group and was the former Group Chief Financial Officer of the Commonwealth Bank of Australia. Michael is currently Chairman of Resolution Capital Ltd and is a Director of the Great Barrier Reef Foundation.


Steve Laidlaw

Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer


Steve was appointed the Chief Executive Officer of People’s Choice Credit Union in January 2016, having previously been the organisation’s Chief Financial Officer since 2012. 

He has significant people leadership and General Management experience in the retail banking and finance industry. He also previously held the Chief Financial Officer role with Rural Bank, now a part of the Bendigo and Adelaide Bank Group of Companies for approximately seven years. Steve is also a Director of Cuscal Limited.


Wendy Thorpe

Director since 2019

BA, BBus, GradDip AppFin & Inv, AMP (Harvard), GAICD, FFin

Wendy is an experienced Director with an extensive executive career in Financial services. She is Chair of Online Education Services and a Director of Tower, Ausgrid, Epworth Health Care and Very Special Kids, Wendy was previously a Director of AMP Bank and a member of Council of Swinburne University. Her executive roles included Chief Information Officer and Chief Operations Officer for AXA, General Manager of Institutional Technology for ANZ and Group Executive, Operations, for AMP.

Amanda Heyworth

Amanda Heyworth

Director since November 2017

BA (Accounting), MBA (AGSM), FAICD

Amanda Heyworth sits on boards in the finance, housing, technology, not-for-profit and Government sectors, including affordable housing organisation Ingenia Communities and the commercialisation arm of UniSA, UniSA Ventures. She also worked with a number of not-for-profits in the disability and social services sector as a board member and board adviser. 

Her previous experience includes running a venture capital fund, founding a tech start-up, working in investment banking and as a federal Treasury economist. She has qualifications in accounting and finance and an MBA from the Australian Graduate School of Management.



Anne Skipper

Anne Skipper AM

Director since 2002

Dip. Nursing, FAICD

Anne is an experienced businesswoman with more than 30 years of experience as a board director, Chair of government, not-for-profit and private sector boards. She is currently a corporate governance consultant and advisor to boards and directors in effective governance.  In addition to being a Director of People’s Choice, Anne is Chair of Silver Chain Group (incorporating RDNS SA), Director of the Global Centre of Modern Ageing, Renewal SA and the Himalayan Development Foundation.

Virginia Hickey

Virginia Hickey

Director since 2014


Virginia brings 15 years of leadership and governance experience to the People’s Choice Board, with a proven track record as a director of 14 companies, including Chair of TransAdelaide and the Telecommunications Industry Ombudsman Council, and as a commercial lawyer and partner at Finlaysons.

Virginia is Director of corporate governance and board leadership consultancy @ the Board Table, is a Council Member of the National Competition Council and holds directorships with Safecom, Public Transport Victoria and and is the independent Chair of the audit committee of the Public Trustee South Australia.


John Patton

Director since 2016

Fellow, Institute of Chartered Accountants in Ireland 
Associate, Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia

John was appointed as a director on 27 October 2016. He has extensive retail banking and risk experience in the mutual sector, and a background as a chartered accountant. John was an independent non-executive director of Rural Bank from 2004 to 2016 and a director of Lifeplan Friendly Society from 2005 to 2013. For 14 years prior to these directorships, John was Chief Financial Officer of the Co-operative Building Society of South Australia and then Adelaide Bank Limited.

We'd like to use your current location

For a more personalised experience please enter your location below...


Change your location